The Distinguished Service Award


Year Awardee Meeting NESTVAL President
2021 no award given Virtual (hosted by University of Connecticut) Darren Bardati
2020  Steven Silvern, Salem State Virtual (hosted by Salem State) Darren Bardati
2019 Judith Otto, Framingham State Framingham State University Patrick Heidkamp
2018 Patrick May, Plymouth State Keene State College Patrick Heidkamp
2017 Cynthia Pope, Central Connecticut State University Central Connecticut State University Chris Cusack
2016 Richard Kujawa, Saint Michael’s College Bishop’s University Chris Cusack
2015 *Vernon Domingo, Bridgewater State University Bridgewater State University Cynthia Pope
2014 John Hayes, Salem State University University of New Hampshire Cynthia Pope
2013 Steven Young, Salem State University
Bryon Middlekauff, Plymouth State University*
Clark University John Hayes
2012 Cathleen McAnneny, University of Maine at Farmington University of Maine at Farmington John Hayes
2011 Concordia Jo Beth Mullens
2010 Storrs, CT Jo Beth Mullens
2009 Mark Okrant, Plymouth State University Salem, MA Sandra Clark
2008* Klaus Bayr, Keene State College*
Tim Rickard, Central Connecticut State*
Plymouth, NH Sandra Clark
2007 Patricia Green–Milberg, John Abbott College New Haven CT Bryon Middlekauff
2006 Stan Demars, Rhode Island College
Leon Yacher, Southern Connecticut State
Burlington, VT Bryon Middlekauff
2005 Keene, NH Cathleen McAnneny
2004 Portland, ME Cathleen McAnneny
2003 Paul Frederic, University of Maine at Farmington Central Connecticut State University Patricia Green-Milberg
2002 Concordia University Patricia Green-Milberg
2001 Bridgewater State College Robert Bristow
2000 Rhode Island College Robert Bristow
1999 John George, Salem State College (Awarded posthumously) University of Maine at Farmington Andrew Bodman
1998 John Abbott College Andrew Bodman
1997 Reed Stewart, Bridgewater State College Salem State University John E. Harmon
1996 William A. Koelsch, Clark University Clark University John E. Harmon
1995 David Frost, Concordia University University of Vermont Mark Okrant
1994 Theodore Pikora, Salem State College University of Connecticut Mark Okrant
1993 Chester Smolski, Rhode Island College Keene State College Leon Yacher
1992 Thomas Lewis, Manchester Community College Portland, ME Leon Yacher
1991 Mildred Berman, Salem State College Concordia University Paul Frederic
1990 Irene Nebiker, North Smithfield Public Schools Norwich, CT Paul Frederic
1989 Maynard Weston Dow, Plymouth State College; Peter Enggass, Mt Holyoke College Boston University David Frost
1988 Robert LeBlanc, University of New Hampshire; Albert Mitchell, University of Maine at Farmington Dartmouth College David Frost
1987 Harold Meeks, University of Vermont; Robert Huke, Dartmouth College Bridgewater State College David Frost
1986 Lewis Alexander, University of Rhode Island; Timothy Rickard and Geoffrey Martin, Central Connecticut State University Rhode Island College Thomas Lewis
1985 Trevor Lloyd, McGill University SUNY Albany Thomas Lewis
1984 Emanuel Maier, Bridgewater State College; Ada Shawkey, Framingham State College; George Lewis, Boston University Plymouth State College Theodore Pikora
1983 Marion Wright, Rhode Island College; William Wallace, University of New Hampshire; J. Rowland Illick, Middlebury College University of Vermont Theodore Pikora
1982 George Rumney, University of Connecticut; Edward Miles, University of Vermont University of Maine Peter Enggass
1981 Ella Keene, Keene State College; Minnie Lemaire, Mt Holyoke College; Myron Starbird, University of Maine at Farmington Concordia University Peter Enggass

*Awards Acknowledged Lifetime Contribution to NESTVAL and Geography